Wednesday, January 9, 2008

2007 Day Prize Short List Announced

The Short List for the 2007 Day Prize has been announced. What is the Day Prize? As stated in the premiere internet reference source:
Created by comic-book writer-artist-publisher Dave Sim and his collaborator, Gerhard, in memory of Sim's late mentor and self-publishing pioneer Gene Day (née Howard Eugene Day), the Howard E. Day Prize is awarded yearly for outstanding achievement in self-publishing. The prize consists of a $500 cash award and a commemorative plaque awarded annually at SPACE (Small Press and Alternative Comics Expo) in Columbus, OH.
Nominees over the past six years have included such alt comix luminaries as Paul Hornschemeier, Andy Runton, Farel Dalrymple, Matt Dembicki, Pat Lewis and dozens more from all over the United States. I'd like to point out (with a dash of regional pride) that half of the winners of this prestigious award have been Ohio cartoonists and two are current Columbus residents.

Congrats to all the nominees for making this year's Short List! (...and most of all to Craig Bogart--another local boy!)

No comments: